Guilty pleasures in music

The fact that I’m one of Lady Gaga’s biggest fans isn’t something new. She just has those kind of songs that get stuck in your head and you can’t stop crooning them for days and even weeks. Also, the lyrics to her songs are so easy to memorate because they are so catchy. I learned the lyrics to “Telephone” after I listened to it once or twice. I guess that’s the secret to a pop hit: a catchy tune and easy to learn lyrics.

Ever since 2006 I’ve also been a Miley Cyrus fan. I know people are going to bash me and say that I’m nuts, but just hear me out! Her songs are very catchy and she has a special kind of charisma, even though a lot of people hate her. The truth is that she is always noticed for something. I remember that the first Miley song that got stuck in my head was the Hannah Montana theme song, “Best of both worlds”. It’s fun, it’s catchy and it’s a very positive song and you have that rockstar feeling when you’re listening to it. Or maybe that’s just me!

Another Miley Cyrus song I’m loving is “Party in the USA”. Its video has been viewed over 100 milion times on youtube and it’s still growing in views. Who even cares if she’s never listened to a Jay-Z song before she recorded this song? That song was heard in a taxi on her way to the club. As a person who wants to go to the USA one day, this song is fun and very catchy.

Actually, all of Miley’s songs are catchy and people listen to them whether they like them or not. A lot of people hate her and a lot love her. Whatever the case, her music will still rock the charts! She is one of my guilty pleasures in pop music at the moment.

Who would have thought that a 16 year-old could be a daily trending topic on twitter? Former youtuber Justin Bieber has some of the most catchiest songs of the moment. Of course he might look like a 7 year-old with a lesbian haircut, but his songs are the kind that get stuck in your head without you even wanting that. At first I was like “Who is this kindergarden dude who’s singing about girls and love?”, but after listening to more of his songs I believe that he’s got a pretty good voice and catchy tunes. His songs may not be relatable to everyone, but you can’t say they can’t get stuck in your head.

Just the other day I couldn’t stop humming “Baby”. It’s a nice song, even though it’s actually kinda sad. I just realized that by listening more carefully to the lyrics.

“For you, I would have done whatever
And I just can’t believe, we ain’t together
And I wanna play it cool, But I’m losin’ you
I’ll buy you anything, I’ll buy you any ring
And im in pieces, Baby fix me
And just shake me til’ you wake me from this bad dream

Im going down, down, down, dooown
And I just cant believe my first love would be around.”

It seems that sad pop songs with an upbeat melody are bound to become smash hits! And if you add a famous rapper into the equation, you are sure to get almost 150 milion views in only two months. Great job, Justin!

What happenes if you get Taylor Swift drunk and throw her into a tub of glitter? You get 23-year old pop sensation Ke$ha who is famous for her #1 single,  “Tik Tok”. The girl looks like a mess and her lyrics are ridiculous and I’m wondering why I listen to her music! You know how things that catch your eye (or in this case, your ears) are maybe obscene, strange or just beautiful? Well, Ke$ha’s music is just catchy. It’s not something that you can relate to (I mean, who brushes their teeth with Jack Daniel’s?) and the lyrics are ridiculous, but it’s still a fun song to listen to and which can easily get stuck in your head.

Another one’s of Ke$ha’s songs is a cameo with 3OH!3. It’s called “Blah Blah Blah” and it’s just as catchy as “Tik Tok”. Again, the lyrics are stupid as hell (yes, again with the Jack), but she still manages to make a hit out of it! I guess drunk blondes sell! I don’t approve her message in her songs, but they just have that tune that makes you listen to them over and over again…

These were my guilty pleasures in music. I’d love to see what your’s are. If I posted that I like Ke(dollarsign)Ha!’s songs, so can you!

Leave a Reply

